Emergency grilling

Here is a nice article on emergency grilling

http://bbq.about.com/cs/cookingtips/a/aa082303a.htm?nl=1

One thing I would add is in my emergency grilling I include making bread. Below is a recipe from Cooks.com

3 1/2 c. lukewarm water
1/2 c. lukewarm water
2 pkgs. yeast dissolved in 1/2 c. water (above)
2 tbsp. sugar
1 tbsp. salt
Flour to thicken
5 tbsp. melted shortening ( I use olive oil)
Flour

Dissolve 2 pkgs. of yeast into 1/2 c. of lukewarm water and set aside about 5 to 10 minutes until it bubbles or rises up. To an additional 3 1/2 c. of lukewarm water, add sugar and salt. Then add the above yeast mixture. Thicken with flour as thick as you want the dough.

Add melted shortening. Add more flour to get the dough as thick as you want, to be able to knead it. Knead until the dough is pretty stiff. Place dough in a large, greased (with melted shortening) bowl on counter, covering with a dish towel until it rises double. Punch down or knead. Let it rise double again. turn out on flour and knead. Proceed as desired. Can make rolls, bread, or cinnamon rolls. Faor rolls or bread, place in a greased ( with shortening) baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees until brown.

I use a pizza stone but if you do not have one I would recommend using a baking sheet with parchment paper on it. I cook my bread at 450 degrees when I use a pizza stone. If you have a thermometer then when the inside reaches 200 degrees it is done. This is a good rule of thumb for most breads. Your bread does not have to look great but it will likely taste very good. I have found that I can grill bread in almost any covered grill. It does help to keep heat more to the side than underneath if using coals not gas grill.

Leave a Reply

